MICROMANAGING (an introduction)

This post is the first in what I hope is a series about my objective to ‘Micromanage My Life.

Through my MBA program at Rockhurst, we are encouraged to reflect on our personality and working styles. Through this,  I found that I am an ESTJ, according to the Myers-Briggs test. A humorous, but a little too true, prayer I was given to fit my personality type was “ESTJ: God, help me to not try to RUN everything. But, if You need some help, just ask.”

The next week, when I was reviewing my results, I had an epiphany of sorts.

My name is Jacklyn, and I AM A MICROMANAGER!

Words are important, and micromanage is rarely used as a positive verb. However, this mindset has helped me in many ways to keep on top of all of my various projects.

23202961cc9332758e652fc04a88134bThis was very important for me to be aware of. And I realized that I can use micromanagement as a strategy and skill to use in my personal life as well. I really want to have timelines and priorities for what I do outside of work.

I hope that this will help keep me accountable to my goals, and also help me to realize and modify the expectations I have for myself and others. My goals include – reading, exercising, spending time supporting my family and friends, and taking time to improve this blog!

Please note: as a micromanager, I reserve the right to return to this post and correct grammar infractions or communication deficiencies. Deal with it. 

Leave a Reply

