WOTD: Distraction

dis·trac·tion

/dɪˈstrækʃən/ [dih-strak-shuhn]

noun

1.the act of distracting.
2.the state of being distracted.
3.mental distress or derangement
4.that which distracts, divides the attention, or prevents concentration: The distractions of the city interfere with my studies.
5.that which amuses, entertains, or diverts; amusement; entertainment:
6.division or disorder caused by dissension; tumult.

Origin: 1425–75; late Middle English (< Anglo-French ) < Latin distractiōn- (stem of distractiō ) separation. See distract, -ion
Synonyms: madness, lunacy, insanity, craziness.
REASON: I find out this week if I get to keep my temp job that I’ve had for a little over 3 months. *fingers crossed* I really think I’ll continue to do well here! But this week, I’m half-useless stressing about what is to come!
Leave a Reply

