Bringing on the #Linsanity (in Business)

Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Image by Getty Images via @daylife

I’d like to thank Wendy Blackburn (@WendyBlackburn) for posting this Forbes article to Twitter, Just Lin, Baby! 10 Lessons Jeremy Lin Can Teach Us Before We Go To Work Monday Morning

While I may not be going to work today, I’m off to do #10 – Work my butt off. I was happy with my resume, but I’m about to re-do it so that it’s ready to submit it to some of the jobs I’m actually excited about.  There’s four of these jobs, five if you count one I already applied for.

I’m not sticking to small companies this time. And I think my biggest requirement for ‘the next job’ is training. I’m great at jumping in and juggling work… but I’d be better if someone was there to give me performance reviews and steer me in the right direction.

Here’s some tips from Forbes on how Jeremy Lin (Harvard Grad, NBA newbie, Asian guy who really knows how to play basketball)

1. Believe in yourself when no one else does. This is really hitting home right now, but I’m really glad I have tip #3 down.

2. Seize the opportunity when it comes up. I’m looking forward to it.

3. Your family will always be there for you, so be there for them. This week, I cleaned at my mom’s house, took photos for a cousin, and made brownies for Bob. Having time to be the one who teaches your mom how to add a hyperlink to an email (wait! I can even link it to word, not just the URL!) has been worth having a couple weeks of floundering about for a job. Plus, I get to spend time with my sister who is coming in town tomorrow to send her dog off to work.

4. Find the system that works for your style. I try to be a very positive person, so the fact that I got a job at an awesome Ad agency gave me rose-colored glasses. I tried to hard to enjoy something that just wasn’t the right fit for me. I came out of it with a much better idea of what is the right fit, even if it’s not completely clear.

5. Don’t overlook talent that might exist around you today on your team.  “We put people around us in boxes.  — Do you know what your people (or even yourself) is really capable of?”

6. People will love you for being an original, not trying to be someone else. “Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.”

7. Stay humble. At my next job, I will strive to ask more people to tell me what I need to improve on—It’s going to be a constant journey of improvement these first couple of years, and I don’t want to forget that.

8. When you make others around you look good, they will love you forever.   “And when the media swarms Lin, he tells them how good his teammates are.  Do the same with your peers and reports.” I’ve worked with and met a lot of great people over the years, and I’m glad to be able to reach out to some of them now because I trust their judgement and their business advice. I may feel like I’m fishing for networking, but it’s all from people that I think are awesome. Plus, I’m offering to buy coffee.

9. Never forget about the importance of luck or fate in life.

10. Work your butt off. This is my favorite. And this is why I’m off to revive my resume, bug LinkedIn connections, and prepare to get a job!

 

Leave a Reply

