Unmystifying Prayer by just TALKing

I wrote this 3 years ago, with a few tweaks, here it is.

When I take the time to be quiet, and pray, this is what I do, what I recommend, what I love. It’s more about being affirming all of the things you’re thankful for than trying to suck up to a higher power I’d like to thank Mr. K for the original inspiration for this acronym.

“what are you supposed to do when you don’t have a make-believe supernatural force to suck up to (pray) to get something to go in your favor? ” – A facebook status from one of my close friends at the time

I’m catholic. I don’t subscribe to every belief catholics proclaim. I am pro-choice and pro-gay marriage (If you don’t like it, don’t do it! there is no place in the law for these things to be denied–moderated like other health issues and traditional marriage–yes. denied, no.) (edit/ for reference, when I wrote this, it was denied everywhere–times change!) but that doesn’t matter for this post. what matters is that… I believe in prayer.

Another friend doesn’t really have a religion.. so I was surprised when she told me a few years back that she had prayed about something… I was like wait.. you no religious, huh? She’s not, but she believes there could be something out there and just simply finds comfort in prayer. I think thats awesome. this non-religious person made me enjoy prayer more.

So my advice, just T.A.L.K.

  • Thank whatever/whomever you believe in, or since you don’t, just list off the things you are thankful for.
  • Ask for what you want, but be sure to include your wants for others as well as yourself
  • Listen, you might not hear or feel anything, you might not even figure out in your head what you’re praying for.. but sometimes it’s just nice to quiet your mind and take a minute to just listen.
  • Kudos, maybe leave this one off if you don’t believe in anything like this,.. but this is where I reimburse the fact that I think my God is awesome.. so maybe just where you reimburse that in so many ways, you are lucky and blessed and your life is awesome etc.

This is how I pray. I Talk. I just think about what I am thankful for and who’s lives I wish could be better, including my own.
And it’s lovely to pray for other people… because it makes you feel all good inside, even if you don’t think anyone is listening.. it is you.. remembering that you care about something other than yourself.

Leave a Reply

